Foto Helsinki Partners (c) Jussi Hellsten

Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Mannerheimintie 13a, 00100 Helsinki
Musiikkitalo - Helsinki Music Centre

FRSO, Elim Chan & Olli Mustonen

FRSO, Elim Chan & Olli Mustonen

Sergei Rachmaninov left Russia during the Revolution and never returned to his homeland. The works he composed during the last quarter-century of his life are coloured by racking homesickness. Sitting down to compose a new work, he was perhaps helped by a theme that had already appealed to several composer generations: from the Caprice no. 24 for solo violin by Paganini.

Béla Bartók wrote one of his greatest works in his new US homeland: the virtuoso Concerto for Orchestra. The sizzling Subito con forza composed by Unsuk Chin for the Beethoven jubilee year is also virtuosic.


Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra (FRSO)

Elim Chan, conductor

Olli Mustonen, piano


Unsuk Chin: Subito con forza

Sergei Rachmaninov: The Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Op. 43

Béla Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra F Minor

Late-Night Chamber Music:

Olli Mustonen, piano

Petri Aarnio, violin

Salla Savolainen, violin

Albert Papp, viola

Mikko Ivars, cello

Olli Mustonen: Piano Quintet

Helsinki Music Centre, Concert Hall

7.10.2022 at 19.00

Tickets 9–38€ from Ticketmaster, ticket sales starts 12.8.2022