Фото Helsinki Partners (c) Jussi Hellsten

Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Mannerheimintie 13a, 00100 Helsinki
Musiikkitalo - Helsinki Music Centre

FRSO with special guest Brett Dean

FRSO with special guest Brett Dean

Brett Dean has a special relationship with Beethoven. Testament is one of his many works reflecting on the life and music of his idol. The name alludes to the letter by Beethoven known as the Heiligenstadt Testament, which Dean interprets as “a leave-taking, an acceptance and a fresh start”. The viola is Dean’s own instrument, so composing a Concerto for it was a chance to assess his relationship with “this curiously beautiful, somewhat enigmatic instrument of my choosing”.


Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra (FRSO)

Nicholas Collon, conductor

Lawrence Power, viola


Brett Dean: Testament

Brett Dean: Viola Concerto

Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 5 C Minor Op. 67

Late-Night Chamber Music:

Kaija Saariaho 70 years

Kaija Saariaho: Six Japanese Gardens

Naoki Yasuda, percussion

Helsinki Music Centre, Concert Hall

12. & 13.10.2022 at 19.00

Tickets 9–38€ from Ticketmaster, ticket sales starts 12.8.2022