Photo Helsinki Partners (c) Jussi Hellsten

Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Mannerheimintie 13a, 00100 Helsinki
Musiikkitalo - Helsinki Music Centre

FRSO & Mark Wigglesworth & Istvan Várdái

FRSO & Mark Wigglesworth & Istvan Várdái

The premiere of the symphony by Ralph Vaughan-Williams in London in 1943 brought comfort in war-time. It is dedicated “Without permission and with the sincerest flattery to Jean Sibelius”. Helen Grime is a Scottish composer born in 1981. Pierre Boulez discovered her Virga and wanted to conduct it in Paris, and it has since found its way into the repertoire of orchestras far and wide.


Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra (FRSO)

Mark Wigglesworth, conductor

Istvan Várdái, cello


Helen Grime: Virga

Dmitri Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No. 2 Op. 126

Ralph Vaughan-Williams: Symphony No. 5 D Major

Musiikkitalo - Helsinki Music Centre, Concert Hall

18.3.2022 at 19.00

Tickets 9-37€ from Ticketmaster, duration 2 h