Photo Helsinki Partners (c) Jussi Hellsten

Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Mannerheimintie 13a, 00100 Helsinki
Musiikkitalo - Helsinki Music Centre

FRSO & Maxim Emelyanychev

FRSO & Maxim Emelyanychev

György Ligeti’s Ramifications weaves a dense polyphonic web out of little motifs made even denser by the string instruments tuned to a higher pitch.

Joseph Haydn wrote his Sinfonia concertante for a demanding London audience. Though he had to make a frantic effort to get it ready in time, the premiere was a resounding success. In his letters telling about his hikes through the Scottish Highlands, Felix Mendelssohn reported on not only the wild, fantastic scenery but also the Scots’ impressive habitus and dress. His impressions of his travels resulted in his bracing third Symphony.


Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra (FRSO)

Maxim Emelyanychev, conductor

Kyeong Ham, oboe

Otto Virtanen, bassoon

Hannu Vasara, violin

Tuomas Lehto, cello


György Ligeti: Ramifications

Joseph Haydn: Sinfonia concertante

Felix Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 3 Op. 56

Helsinki Music Centre, Concert Hall

15. & 16.2.2023 at 19.00

Tickets 9–38€ from Ticketmaster, ticket sales starts 9.12.2022