Photo Helsinki Partners (c) Jussi Hellsten

Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Mannerheimintie 13a, 00100 Helsinki
Musiikkitalo - Helsinki Music Centre

FRSO, Chloé Dufresne & Alexander Malofejev

FRSO, Chloé Dufresne & Alexander Malofejev

Despite later being hailed as a ‘timeless classic’, the Tchaikovsky piano concerto was not born under a lucky star. Nikolai Rubinstein refused to perform it unless Tchaikovsky made vast amendments, but luckily the latter refused to change a single note.

His primitive, brilliant Firebird raised 28-year-old Igor Stravinsky to world fame at a single stroke. He made three orchestral suites of its music, the last and biggest in 1945, by which time he had emigrated to the United States.


Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Chloé Dufresne, conductor
Alexander Malofeev, piano


Pyotr Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1
Cecilia Damström: New work, world premiere (Yle commission)
Igor Stravinsky: The Firebird, Suite 1945


Late-Night Chamber Music:
Dora Pejačević: String Quartet Op. 58
Paula Sundqvist, violin
Laura Vikman, violin
Martta Wahlberg, viola
Tomas Nuňez, cello


Helsinki Music Centre, Concert Hall



Tickets 10-40€ from Ticketmaster