Photo Helsinki Partners (c) Jussi Hellsten

Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Mannerheimintie 13a, 00100 Helsinki
Musiikkitalo - Helsinki Music Centre

FRSO, David Robertson & Orli Shahan

FRSO, David Robertson & Orli Shahan

“Must the devil have all the good tunes?” Martin Luther is said to have wondered. John Adams’s Piano Concerto (2018) asks the same thing, though the result is far from hymn-singing. A whiff of beginning-of-the-century Vienna has wafted into György Ligeti’s San Francisco Polyphony, where it has mixed with the steely sound of 1970s San Francisco.

The first Symphony by Sergei Rachmaninov is one of music history’s miscarriages of justice. The premiere was a complete flop, and Rachmaninov forbade any further performances. By the time it was finally rediscovered and people realised it was a masterpiece, Rachmaninov was dead.


Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra (FRSO)

David Robertson, conductor

Orli Shaham, piano


György Ligeti: San Francisco Polyphony

John Adams: Must the devil have all the good tunes

Sergei Rachmaninov: Symphony No. 1 D Minor Op.13

Helsinki Music Centre, Concert Hall

27.1.2023 at 19.00

Tickets 9–38€ from Ticketmaster, ticket sales starts 9.12.2022