Photo Helsinki Partners (c) Jussi Hellsten

Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Mannerheimintie 13a, 00100 Helsinki
Musiikkitalo - Helsinki Music Centre

FRSO, Nicholas Collon & Jonas Silinskas

FRSO, Nicholas Collon & Jonas Silinskas

The 1990s Väinö Raitio renaissance swept the dust off many of the finest gems in Finnish orchestral literature, such as the colourful Waterspout that had been left to slumber for over half a century. The Trumpet Concerto by Mieczysław Weinberg is such a copious work that his colleague Shostakovich called it a Symphony for Trumpet and Orchestra. The soloist in this performance is the FRSO’s own ace trumpeter Jonas Silinskas. Leonard Bernstein’s Symphonic Dances from West Side Story recall 1950s Manhattan, Maurice Ravel’s La Valse Europe before the First World War.


Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra (FRSO)

Nicholas Collon, conductor

Jonas Silinskas, trumpet


Väinö Raitio: Vesipatsas

Mieczysław Weinberg: Trumpet Concerto Op. 94

Leonard Bernstein: Symphonic Dances from West Side Story

Maurice Ravel: La Valse

Helsinki Music Centre, Concert Hall

24. & 25.5.2023 at 19.00

Tickets 9–38€ from Ticketmaster, ticket sales starts 9.12.2022