Photo Helsinki Partners (c) Jussi Hellsten

Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Mannerheimintie 13a, 00100 Helsinki
Musiikkitalo - Helsinki Music Centre

FRSO, Nicholas Collon & István Várdai

FRSO, Nicholas Collon & István Várdai 

The young British-French Héloïse Werner composed for mira in memory of an artist friend. Another memorial to friendship is the first cello concerto by Dmitry Shostakovich, composed for master cellist Mstislav Rostropovich.

“Heavenly length” was the expression used by Schumann to describe Franz Schubert’s “Great” C-major symphony. Lasting less than an hour, it did not, however, seem so very long after the mammoth works of the Late Romantic period. Schubert himself never heard it, and it nearly fell into total oblivion.


Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Nicholas Collon, conductor
István Várdai, cello


Héloise Werner: for mira
Dmitry Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No. 1 E-Flat Minor Op. 107
Franz Schubert: Symphony No. 8 “The Great”


Helsinki Music Centre, Concert Hall

18. & 19.10.2023 


Tickets 10-40€ from Ticketmaster