Photo Helsinki Partners (c) Jussi Hellsten

Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Mannerheimintie 13a, 00100 Helsinki
Musiikkitalo - Helsinki Music Centre

FRSO & Ariane Matiakh

FRSO & Ariane Matiakh

Charles Echlin’s Vers la vote étoilée takes us “towards the starry vault, on a journey to very distant places far from earth yet still in touch with human emotions”. Olivier Messiaen, in his Concerto for Four, says a fond farewell to composition, while Camille Saint-Saëns paints music’s most famous portrait of death in his Danse macabre.

His opera Salome, with its erotic dance of the seven veils, made Richard Strauss the most talked-about composer of his day. When Der Rosenkavalier was premiered a few years later, special trains had to be run between Berlin and Dresden to cope with the huge concert audience.


Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Ariane Matiakh, conductor
Jouko Laivuori, piano
Tomas Nuňez, cello
Yuki Koyama, flute
Kyeong Ham, oboe


Charles Koechlin: Vers la voûte étoilée
Olivier Messiaen: Concert à quatre
Camille Saint-Saëns: Danse macabre Op. 40
Richard Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier, Suite for Orchestra
Richard Strauss: Dance of the Seven Veils from the opera Salome


Helsinki Music Centre, Concert Hall

4. & 5.10.2023 


Tickets 10-40€ from Ticketmaster