Photo Helsinki Partners (c) Jussi Hellsten

Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Mannerheimintie 13a, 00100 Helsinki
Musiikkitalo - Helsinki Music Centre

FRSO, Hannu Lintu & Francesco Piemontesi

FRSO,  Hannu Lintu & Francesco Piemontesi

The textures of the new orchestral work by Ilkka Hammo surge and ominously swell, but they also shimmer, clear and transparent. These last two adjectives might also be used to describe the third piano concerto by Béla Bartók composed in the shadow of an incurable disease.
Espansiva, the epithet describing Nielsen’s third symphony, alludes to expansive, sweeping lines. The most Danish of his symphonies, it marked his international breakthrough.


Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Hannu Lintu, conductor
Francesco Piemontesi, piano


Ilkka Hammo: New work, world premiere (Yle commission)
Béla Bartók: Piano Concerto No. 3 E Major Sz. 119
Carl Nielsen: Symphony No. 3


Helsinki Music Centre, Concert Hall

13. & 14.3.2024


Tickets 10-40€ from Ticketmaster